Brotherhood of St Laurence
Star ratings
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)

Archival work completed by E-Scholarship Research Centre, University of Melbourne

Collection Overview

The Brotherhood of St Laurence Archive is housed in the BSL Social Policy Library in the BSL Head Office at 67 Brunswick Street in Fitzroy, VIC. The archive contains an extensive set of records including primary sources including papers, photographs and audio-visual materials spanning from the early 20th Century to the present day. These records offer insight into the history of the Brotherhood of St Laurence and the many varied programs and activities that the Brotherhood has been engaged in, particularly social welfare and poverty related issues.

Series 2: Papers, 1875-2019 (pp. 37-75). This Series contains a large set of published and unpublished materials including books, reports, correspondence and other assorted papers.

The full listing of items contained within each Series is accessible via the electronic link attached to record.

Key topics include:
Aged care; Alcoholism; Appeals; Campaigns; Children; Christianity; Church in Australia; Community; Community Aid Abroad; Community service; Credit Co-op; Elderly; Emergency relief; Employment; Faith; Family; Family day care; Free school milk ; Fundraising; Government; History; Holiday camps; Home finance; Homelessness; Housing; Material Aid; Missionaries; Oral history; Pension reform ; Poverty; Programs; Publicity; Religion; Religious education ; Rent rebates; Royal Commission on Housing; Schools; Services; Slum clearance; Slums; Social policy; Social security; Social service; Social welfare; Unemployment; Urban; Welfare; Women; Youth. Key words include (contd.):
Action Resource Centre (ARC); Archbishop of Melbourne; Austin family; Avalon Homestead; British and Foreign Bible Society; Carrum Downs; Charles Strong; Church of England; Collins Court; Commonwealth Commission of Inquiry into Poverty; Coolibah Club; Cox Court; Diana Chassell; Family Centre; Fitzroy; Frank William Coaldrake; Frederick Waldegrave Head; Geoffrey Sambell; Gerard Kennedy Tucker; Harold Holt; Hawke Government; Housing Commission of Victoria; Jessica Millott; John H. Reeves; John Handfield; Keble House; Lara; Maida Coaldrake; Michael Challen; Michael John Clarke; Millott House; Patricia Newell; Patrick John Murphy; Peninsula Division; Peter Hollingworth; St Laurence Chapel; St Laurence Trust Pty Ltd; Staff Association; Sumner House; Weston Bate; Womens Issues Group.

Item type Current library Call number Status Date due Barcode
Electronic Brotherhood of St. Laurence Available

There are no comments on this title.

to post a comment.

Hosted by Prosentient